AN-26-100 RA-26660 11.10.2016

Accident date11.10.2016
Aircraft registration numberRA-26660
Accident sitein Abyysky District of the Sakha Republic (Yakutia)
Aircraft typeAn-26-100
Aircraft operator"Polar Airlines" Airlines
Aircraft owner"Polar Airlines" Airlines
The date of the completion of the investigation (report)14.07.2017
Number of fatalities0
Victims accuracy
Degree of aircraft destructionaircraft substantially damaged
Report

report_ra-26660.pdf (5.91 MB)

Aviation typeCommercial
Works type
Note

11 october 2016

The accident with An-26-100 RA-26660 aircraft operated by "Polar Airlines" Air company occurred in Abyysky District of the Sakha Republic (Yakutia) on October 11, 2016. According to the available information the crew and passengers on board did not suffer, the aircraft sustained substantial damage.

The Interstate Aviation Committee has assigned the Investigation team of the accident in accordance with the Russian Aviation Legislation. The Investigation team has started its work.


31 july 2017

Investigation team of the Interstate Aviation Committee has completed the investigation of the accident with An-26-100 RA-26660 aircraft operated by Polar Airlines JSC, occurred in the area of Belaya Gora Airport of the Sakha Republic (Yakutia) on 11.10.2016.

The accident with An-26-100 RA-26660 aircraft occurred in the day time during the landing in conditions of snow shower and under the meteorological conditions below the specified airport minima (240х4000) that resulted in the crew misidentifying of unpaved snow-compacted RWY, landing on the Indigirka flood plain and the aircraft substantial damage during the landing run.

Most probably the accident was caused by the combination of the following factors[1]:

– lack of crew operating procedures during the approach with reference to a standalone NDB in the Airline FOM;

– violation of operating procedures by the ATC controller resulted in failure to inform the crew that the actual RVR (1900 m) was below the specified aerodrome meteorological minima (the controller had reported the information only related to the snow shower and recommended to fly above the runway); 

– PIC was not informed that the actual RVR value is below the specified aerodrome meteorological minima (last reported by the controller value was within the minima);

– presence of multiple reference points on final at a distance of 1000 - 730 m from the RWY threshold (namely: abandoned ships, ship cranes, fuel loading complex and etc.) which as they were covered with snow, could be taken for RWY markers by the crew; 

– transition season period resulted in the presence of multiple bare areas on the underlying surface which interfered the visual orientation and seeking the unpaved show-compacted runway (for the crew it was the first flight to the aerodrome in question in winter conditions after summer season end);

– a not inclusive use of navaids on final resulted in a lack of proper aircraft monitoring along the glidepath; 

– lack of sufficient conditions for visual observation from the ATC controller's working station of the airplanes approaching with magnetic heading=71°.

Appropriate safety recommendations based on the investigation results were developed.



[1] In accordance with the ICAO Manual of Aircraft Accident and Incident Investigation (DOC 9756 AN/965), the factors are listed in chronological order, without priority assessment. The determination of contributing factors is not to apportion blame or liability.

Ан-26-100 RA-26660 11.10.2016

Дата события11.10.2016
Регистрационный номер ВСRA-26660
Место событияв Абыйском улусе Республики Саха (Якутия)
ВСАн-26-100
Эксплуатант ВСАО "АК "Полярные авиалинии"
Владелец ВСАО "АК "Полярные авиалинии"
Дата завершения расследования (отчета)14.07.2017
Количество погибших0
Точность данных
Степень разрушения ВСЗначительные повреждения ВС
Отчет

report_ra-26660.pdf (5.91 MB)

Вид авиацииКоммерческая
Тип работ
Примечание

11 октября 2016

11.10.2016 в Абыйском улусе Республики Саха (Якутия) произошло авиационное происшествие с самолетом Ан-26-100 RA-26660 авиакомпании «Полярные авиалинии». По имеющейся информации, находившиеся на борту экипаж и пассажиры не пострадали, воздушное судно получило значительные повреждения.

В соответствии с российским воздушным законодательством Межгосударственный авиационный комитет сформировал комиссию по расследованию данного авиационного происшествия. Комиссия приступила к работе.

31 июля 2017

Комиссия Межгосударственного авиационного комитета завершила расследование авиационного происшествия с самолетом Ан-26-100 RA-26660 АО АК «Полярные авиалинии», происшедшего 11.10.2016 в районе аэродрома Белая Гора Республики Саха (Якутия).

Авиационное происшествие с самолетом Ан-26-100 RA-26660 произошло днем, при выполнении посадки в условиях снежного заряда и в метеоусловиях, ниже установленного минимума аэродрома (240х4000), что привело к ошибке экипажа в распознавании ГВПП с укатанным снегом, посадке на пойму реки Индигирка и значительным повреждениям ВС при пробеге.

Наиболее вероятно, АП стало следствием сочетания следующих факторов[1]:

– отсутствие в РПП авиакомпании технологии работы членов экипажа при заходе на посадку по ОПРС;

– нарушение технологии работы диспетчером КДП, выразившееся в неинформировании экипажа о фактической видимости на ГВПП (1900 м) ниже установленного метеоминимума (диспетчер передал только информацию о снежном заряде и предложил пройти над полосой);

– отсутствие у КВС информации о фактической видимости на аэродроме ниже установленного метеоминимума (последнее переданное диспетчером значение соответствовало минимуму);

– наличие на посадочном курсе, на удалении 1000 – 730 м от торца ГВПП, многочисленных «ориентиров» (заброшенные суда, корабельные краны, топливный перегрузочный комплекс и др.), заметенных снегом, которые могли быть приняты экипажем за маркеры ГВПП;

– переходный период времени года и, как следствие, наличие на подстилающей поверхности многочисленных «проплешин», затрудняющих визуальную ориентировку и отыскание ГВПП с укатанным снегом (для членов экипажа это был первый полет на данный аэродром в зимних условиях после летнего сезона);

– некомплексное использование экипажем средств навигации на посадочной прямой, что привело к отсутствию должного контроля за положением самолета относительно глиссады;

– отсутствие условий для визуального наблюдения с рабочего места диспетчера КДП за ВС, заходящими на посадку с МК=71°.

По результатам расследования разработаны рекомендации по повышению безопасности полетов.




[1]В соответствии с Руководством по расследованию авиационных происшествий и инцидентов ИКАО (DOC 9756 AN/965), факторы приведены в хронологическом порядке, без оценки приоритета. Определение способствующих факторов не предполагает возложение вины или установление ответственности.